26.5 C
Thursday, July 13, 2023
HomeNewsCoronavirus: Government of Czech Republic Announced a State of Emergency

Coronavirus: Government of Czech Republic Announced a State of Emergency

Large measures are being put in place to stop the spread of the virus, involving travel restrictions, a special regime at the country’s borders and the closure of sports facilities, galleries and libraries.

In addition, the police are now being deployed to check whether people who have been ordered into quarantine are staying at home.

What Can and Must Not Be Done After Today’s Government Measures

The government declared a state of emergency in the Czech Republic due to coronavirus on Thursday 13th March 2020. There is a ban on public gatherings of over 30 people from Friday, and from Saturday, there will be a ban on travel to crisis countries. Kindergartens, supermarkets, hospitals, pharmacies and restaurants will remain open during the day. Public transport is also not limited. The emergency should be valid for 30 days.

What Is Prohibited

All theatrical, musical, film and other artistic performances; sports, cultural, religious, federal, dance, traditional and similar events and other gatherings; exhibitions, festivals, pilgrimages, shows, tastings, markets and fairs; educational events, both public and private, with participation exceeding 30 persons at the same time.

Public presence in gyms, swimming pools, solariums, saunas, music and sports clubs, entertainment facilities, wellness facilities, libraries, galleries. Outdoor sports facilities remain open.

Restaurants must remain closed between 20:00 and 6:00. Catering establishments in shopping centres over 5000 m2 will remain closed throughout the day.

Primary, secondary, tertiary and newly also art schools remain closed.

What Remains in Service

Kindergartens remain open.

Supermarkets and small shops, pharmacies and hospitals remain open.

Public transport remains in operation.

Restaurants are open from 06:00 to 20:00. They can also contain more than 30 people.

The prohibition also does not apply to funerals and meetings of constitutional bodies and public persons by law.

Who Is Not Allowed to Enter the Czech Republic?

As of Saturday, 14 March 00:00, all foreigners from China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain, Austria, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, Belgium, Denmark, France, Britain.

Where Must the Czechs Obey Restrictions?

Travelling is prohibited for Czechs or foreigners with permanent or temporary residence in the Czech Republic for over 90 days. List of banned countries: China, South Korea, Iran, Italy, Spain, Austria, Germany, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, Norway, Belgium, Denmark, France and Great Britain.

Citizens working abroad will be able to apply for an exemption granted by the Interior Minister within hours. They will have to show their employer’s confirmation. It will only be possible to cross the border at selected border crossing points. Germany: Strážný, Pomezí nad Ohří, Rozvadov, Folmava, Železná Ruda, Beautiful Forest, Hora sv. Šebestiána. Austria: Dolni Dvoriste, Ceske Velenice, Hate, Mikulov.

Foreigners already present in the Czech Republic are entitled to stay in the country.

As of Saturday, 14 March 00:00, the ban on the carriage of passengers across the Czech Republic over nine persons applies to all international, road and passenger carriers. The exemption applies to truck drivers, train crews, aircraft pilots and rescue system personnel.

Which Airports Will Be Opened?

Air carriers will only be able to use Prague Airport for international flights.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular


Adult Clubs

Adult Nightclubs in Prague

- Advertisment -

Recent Comments

Free Prague Walking Tour

During the 4-hour walking tour of Prague, you will be introduced to the most interesting and significant historical sites in Prague, such as the Jewish Quarter, the historical buildings of the Old Town and the renowned Charles Bridge, before finishing off at the Prague Castle.